Oxfordshire FA Grassroots Football Award Winners 2023

Oxfordshire's Grassroots Heroes Acknowledged

Oxfordshire FA has named the winners of this year’s Grassroots Football Awards.

Oxfordshire FA is delighted to announce the deserved recipients of this year’s Grassroots Football Awards, which acknowledge the remarkable contribution made to local football by our clubs, leagues, projects and volunteers.

Winners were announced daily via social media throughout the course of the week commencing 25 September, with 15 accolades delivered to worthy winners who have all created a huge impact on both the game and their respective communities.

Michael Thurlow, Football Development Manager at Oxfordshire FA, said: “Congratulations to each and every one of our winners. It has been a pleasure meeting up with you all to present the awards, which enable us to present a small token of our appreciation for all that you have done, and continue to do for the game.

“While our awards are delivered to just a small number of our Oxfordshire grassroots family, however, we were presented with a wealth of nominations which highlight the size, scale and strength of our volunteer workforce. Everyone at Oxfordshire FA appreciates and is grateful for all of the dedication and passion shown by everyone involved in football locally. Thank you.”

Oxfordshire’s local winners will now automatically be put forward for consideration for regional awards, with regional award winners later nominated for national awards – traditionally presented at the following FA Community Shield fixture at Wembley Stadium.

Our 2023 Grassroots Football Award winners in full…

Coach of the Year – Disability Pathway
Garry Allen – Oxford United Downs Syndrome Team

League of the Year
Oxfordshire Girls Football League

New Volunteer of the Year
Elliot Charlton – Tower Hill FC

Coach of the Year – Female Pathway
Ben Davies – Chinnor Youth FC

Grassroots Project of the Year
Oxfordshire Walking Football League

Outstanding Contribution to Grassroots Football
Claire Finnn – Launton Ladies FC and Oxfordshire Girls Football League

Club of the Year
Rotherfield United FC

Volunteer of the Year
Garry Allen – Oxford United’s Downs Syndrome Team

Outstanding Contribution to Grassroots Football
John Smyth – Witney & District FA and Ducklington FC

Coach of the Year – Male Pathway
Ross Pomeroy – Launton FC

Young Volunteer of the Year
Cameron Thompson – Witney Vikings

Outstanding Contribution to Grassroots Football
Rob Roslyn – Oxfordshire Youth Football League

Outstanding Contribution to Grassroots Football
David Woodcock – Witney & District FA

Positive Football Environment
Oxfordshire Walking Football League

Match Official of the Year
Reuben Clayton