Sam Waters Sunday Cup

Sam Waters Sunday Cup

About the Sunday Cup

The Sam Waters Sunday Cup is the club cup competition open to all Sunday clubs who are competing members of a recognised Sunday League.


History of the Cup

Sam Waters was an OFA Council member from 1947 until 1961 where he represented the City Division. He was made a Vice President of the Oxfordshire FA in the 1962 season. A big supporter of Sunday football, his contributions were recognised when this competition was founded in 1967. 

The Sam Waters Sunday Cup inaugural winners were Blackfriars who won the competition five times in its first six seasons. Cold Arbour hold the record for wins with seven between 1975 and 1999. Headington Amateurs Sunday are the current holders of the cup lifting the trophy for the first time following as 6-1 victory over The Village Inn at the Raw Charging Stadium.


Get In Touch

By Phone: 01295 407553

By Email:



Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round to 12/11/23 Results
Quarter-Final 03/12/23 to 10/12/23 Results
Semi-Final 07/01/24 Results
Final 24/03/24 Result

Current Holders – Headington Amateurs Sunday

2022/23 Final Highlights

12 March 2023 @ Raw Charging Stadium: Headington Amateurs Sunday 6 – 1 The Village Inn